Ideal Launch to Spin ratio

threshold350

resident dickhead
With all this low spin tech in the latest drivers, it's pretty common to see ppl hit sub 2k spin. Sometimes in the 1500's. I've been seeing people post their numbers with same launch at 10-13* but with spin dropping from 2200-2500 to sub 2k when comparing to their current gamer. According to the launch monitor, that equates to increased distance sometimes up to 15-20yds. I'm really curious how this translates to the course. I would think with 10-13* launch their drive would fall from the sky and actually see less distance with such low spin (1500-2000)

I'm not a professional fitter but with these low low spin driver heads and low spin shafts being sold together, what are the ideal launch numbers juan should be looking for?

Nature Boy Jlit

Staff member
It varies. Ideally, 17/1700, but it's so difficult to attain, especially for really high or really low ball speeds. It takes the optimal 5 degrees upward angle of attack to get there too.

For me, around 145-150 ball speed, and with an upward angle of attack, I'm looking for 13.5 to 14.5 launch paired with 2100-2300 spin. That's pretty much optimal for me.

I can still get good distance if one goes up or down a shade, as long as the other goes the opposite direction. Think of it like a see-saw, or the yanks teeter totter. Optimal is balanced with both off the ground. They always have to work together.

threshold350

resident dickhead
I get the balance. I just smh when I read that ppl are just focused on get spin sub 2k and not the launch. Which is why the LTD never worked for me. Spin went down a lot but launch angle wouldny go up regardless how much I lofted up. I think I was getting 12-13* and 1500-2000. Monitor was saying 275-279yd. I just know that wouldn't translate onto the course.

Nature Boy Jlit

Staff member